Business Travel

Driver Certification

The University of Oregon has a new process for driver certification that allows the driver to self-certify, upon an endorsement from their department. This new process not only decreases the time it takes to become driver certified, it also allows drivers to be certify almost immediately upon request.

To drive any vehicle for university-business travel, a driver must be certified through the University of Oregon Driver Certification process prior to driving any vehicle for university-business travel. To be driver certified a driver must meet minimum driver and driving requirements and complete an online form. Completion of the online form requires a signature from a supervisor or department coordinator; this person cannot be a student or yourself. Driver certification is valid from the date the online process is completed through September 30th.


Van Driver Certification

To drive a van for university-business travel, a driver must also complete the required van-training. This online course, provided by Oregon State University, is valid indefinitely once completed.


State Motor Pool

A driver must be driver certified to rent a vehicle from the State Motor Pool.


Minimum Driver and Driving Record Requirements

Driver must be 18 years or older.

Driver must hold a valid and current driver license.

Within the past 60 months, the driver may NOT have been convicted of a major traffic offense. This includes, but is not limited to, reckless driving, driving while under the influence of intoxicants, failure to perform the duties of a driver involved in an accident or collision, leaving the scene of a property damage accident, driving on a suspended or revoked license, fleeing or attempting to elude a police officer, driving after being declared to be a habitual offender, and vehicular negligent injury.

Within the past 60 months, the driver may NOT have been convicted of a Class A or Class B moving traffic infraction. This includes, but is not limited to, failure to obey traffic patrol personnel, using a vehicle to commit a crime, careless driving that results in an accident, reckless driving, speed racing on a highway, speeding 30 mph or more in excess of the limit, vehicular assault of a pedestrian or cyclist, and failure to stop for bus safety lights.

Within the past 24 months, the driver may NOT have had a felony revocation of driving privileges or felony or misdemeanor driver license suspension.

Within the past 12 months, the driver may NOT have had more than two convictions for Class C moving traffic violations. This includes, but is not limited to, careless driving, crossing double line, cut in, driving on sidewalk, driving while encumbered, driving on wrong side of highway, driving in public park, failure to drive right, failure to leave name/address at accident, failure to maintain reasonable control, failure to stop for school bus, failure to yield right of way, failure to yield to pedestrian, following too closely, illegal turn, improper lane change, improper left turn, improper passing, improper reverse turn, improper right turn, negligent driving, no headlights or driving without lights, insufficient clearance, reckless driving, right turn from wrong lane, squirreling, and violating the basic rule.

Within the past 12 months, the driver may NOT have had more than three convictions for Class D moving traffic violations. This includes, but is not limited to, disregarding red light, disregarding stop sign, disregarding traffic sign, failure to stop at railroad crossing, failure to obey traffic control device, and wrong way on one-way street.